Hey Track Fans on March 15 2003 in Boston, MA at the NCAA Division II Indoor Championships a SUPER FEAT HAPPENED!!  Western State College of Gunnison, Colorado, now Western Colorado University dominated the 5000 meter final by placing the first six!!  To the best of my knowledge no College or University track team at a National Meet, indoor or outdoor, at any level, ( NCAA Division I, II, III, NAIA, Junior College) has placed the first six in any track event.  This was the fifth of what would be six in a row where Western would win the Individual 5000 Meter Title!!  From 1999-2002 Michael Aish was the Champion and Scott Nagelkerke won the next two 2003-2004. The legendary Duane Vandenbushe was the coach of this record breaking streak and would have had seven had earlier in the day 2005 Mile Title Winner Oliver Bodor doubling back took second in that years 5000 meter final.  The 2001 win by Aish was a record sitting 13:44.27 which held till 2017.  Below is the results of that 2003 meet.


 Flash Results, Inc. 
      2003 NCAA Division II Indoor Championships - 3/14/2003 to 3/15/2003       
                              Reggie Lewis Center                               
                                   Boston, MA                                   
Event 19  Men 5000 Meter Run
 One section final. Alley start, two turn stagger.                              
        Meet: * 13:44.27  2001        Michael Aish, Western St (CO)             
    Name                    Year School                  Finals  Points         
  1 Scott Nagelkerke          JR Western State         14:06.22   10            
  2 Josh Eberly               JR Western State         14:06.25    8            
  3 Paul McRae                JR Western State         14:08.60    6            
  4 Philip McPherson          SR Western State         14:13.92    5            
  5 Rubin McRae               SR Western State         14:16.83    4            
  6 Will Banks                JR Western State         14:20.26    3            
  7 Greg Darbyshire           SR South Dakota State    14:22.64    2            
  8 Matt Levassiur            JR Adams State           14:27.44    1            
  9 Jacob Rotich              SR Harding               14:35.17                 
 10 Celedonio Rodriguez       SO Adams State           14:47.75                 
 11 Jason Donald              SR Western State         14:49.51                 
 12 Carl Mease                SR Mass.-Lowell          14:54.76                 
 13 Arthemon Sindayigaya      SR Abilene Christian     15:12.56                 



0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *